On the crest of the ridge linking the villages of Hampstead and Highgate sits Kenwood House, boasting spectacular views towards Central London. Kenwood House is internationally renowned for the collection of paintings bequeathed to the nation in 1927 by Edward Cecil Guinness, 1st Earl of Iveagh. Among the world-famous works are Portrait of an Artist by Rembrandt, The Guitar Player by Vermeer and Mary, Countess Howe by Gainsborough, together with exquisite paintings by Hals, Van Dyck, Reynolds, Turner and many others. The collection is housed in the magnificent villa remodelled by Robert Adam from 1764 to 1779 for William Murray, 1st Earl of Mansfield and Lord Chief Justice. To the original house built here around 1700, Adam added the imposing portico, a third storey and the wing containing his breathtaking library, or 'Great Room'. He encased the whole in white stucco and embellished the interior in his personal interpretation of the fashionable neoclassical style. Today, many of the sumptuous interiors, originally designed to impress the cream of 18th century society, have been re-presented to enhance the collection and add to Kenwood's sense of grace and luxury. Some rooms in this magnificent house are now available for corporate and private hire.
The West Wing (Green Room, Music Room & Orangery)
Capacity: 80 Seated + 120 Reception
Marquee site (The Flower Garden)
Capacity: 480 seated + 480 Reception